UT Institute of Agriculture Presents Top Faculty/Staff Awards for 2018

2018 UTIA J.E. Moss Award Winners
Pictured above are the winners of the 2018 J.E. Moss Achievement awards with UTIA leaders. From left to right (front row), Tim Cross, chancellor of UTIA; John Wilkerson, professor of Biosystems Engineering and Soil Science; Carla Sommardahl, DVM and associate professor of Large Animal Clinical Sciences; Fred Tompkins, interim dean of AgResearch; Andrea Ludwig, associate professor of Biosystems Engineering and Soil Science, and Robert Burns, dean of UT Extension. Also shown on the back row, from left to right, are Jim Thompson, DVM and dean of the College of Veterinary Medicine; William M. "Bill" Park, professor of Agricultural and Resource Economics; and Caula Beyl, dean of the Herbert College of Agriculture. Phot​o by T. Salvador, courtesy UTIA. ​​

KNOXVILLE, Tenn. – The University of Tennessee Institute of Agriculture recognized some of its top faculty, staff, researchers and extension experts at UTIA’s annual Awards and Promotions Luncheon held on the UTIA campus in Knoxville August 17, 2018. Many of the awards are gifts made possible by past faculty, alumni and friends of the Institute.

Chancellor Tim Cross hosted the award winners, and praised them for their work. “The people we recognized at our ceremony exemplify the Institute of Agriculture’s commitment to our mission of providing real life solutions through teaching, discovery and service on campus – throughout Tennessee and across the world,” Cross says. “Their hard work and dedication inspires all of us to be our best.”  

Bill Park, professor in Agricultural and Resource Economics and representing the Herbert College of Agriculture, is one of the four winners of the J.E. Moss Achievement Award.

Park has been with UTIA since 1980. His love of nature and the outdoors – he’s hiked more than 500 miles of trails in the Smokies – is also part of his professional concentration. His focus is on the economics of natural resource and environmental policy, and he helped establish an academic major in this area this year, as well as a new course “Renewable Energy Economics.”

Park also is director of the Farm Credit Scholars program, and director of undergraduate programs for the UT Howard Baker Center for Public Policy.

“While I am truly honored and humbled to receive this award from my peers for my contributions to the education and professional development of students within our college, even more rewarding is seeing my students learn and grow, persist to graduation, pursue and succeed in their career,” Park says. “The ultimate reward is when a former student contacts me or drops by years after graduation, expresses appreciation for my investment in his or her life, and offers to share with and invest in the next generation of students. I’m not sure I yet realize how much I will miss this once I retire in the not too distant future.”

The J.E. Moss award recognizes an outstanding person from each of UTIA’s four units. The other winners for 2018 were Andrea Ludwig for UT Extension, Carla Sommardahl for the UT College of Veterinary Medicine, and John Wilkerson for UT AgResearch.
The University of Tennessee Institute of Agriculture celebrates 50 years of excellence in providing Real. Life. Solutions. Through teaching, discovery and service. ag.tennessee.edu​.



Charles Denney, 865-382-8058, cmdenney@utk.edu

Bill Park, 865-974-7473, wpark@tennessee.edu