UT Institute of Agriculture Presents Top Faculty/Staff Awards for 2018

Chris Boyer receiving T.J. Whatley Distinguished Young Scientist Award
Pictured above from left to right, Tim Cross, chancellor of UTIA; Chris Boyer, associate professor in Agricultural and Resource Economics; Fred Tompkins, interim dean of AgResearch; and Caula Beyl, dean of the Herbert College of Agriculture. Photo by T. Salvador, courtesy UTIA. Download image​.

KNOXVILLE, Tenn. – The University of Tennessee Institute of Agriculture recognized some of its top faculty, staff, researchers and extension experts at UTIA’s annual Awards and Promotions Luncheon held on the UTIA campus in Knoxville August 17, 2018. Many of the awards are gifts made possible by past faculty, alumni and friends of the Institute.

Chancellor Tim Cross hosted the award winners and praised them for their work. “The people we recognized at our ceremony exemplify the Institute of Agriculture’s commitment to our mission of providing real life solutions through teaching, discovery and service on campus – throughout Tennessee and across the world,” Cross says. “Their hard work and dedication inspires all of us to be our best.”  
Chris Boyer, associate professor in Agricultural and Resource Economics, is the winner of the T.J. Whatley Distinguished Young Scientist Award. This award is one of the most prestigious given by UTIA every year, and was established by Thomas J. Whatley, associate dean emeritus of the Agricultural Experiment Station. The honor recognizes a young scientist who has less than 12 years of professional experience and a minimum of five years of service on the agricultural faculty.

Boyer’s work focuses on the economic impact of farm and environmental management. He has taken over a project examining the money saved when combining cover crops with no-till agriculture, where one crop is planted over the residue of a past crop in order to prevent erosion. Boyer also teaches several classes in the department, including “Farm Business Management and Microeconomic Theory,” has published a number of academic articles, and served as a featured speaker for UTIA field days. 

“It’s truly an honor to be selected for the T.J. Whatley Distinguished Young Scientist Award,” Boyer says. “I love my job and to be recognized for getting to do what I love, makes me very grateful for this wonderful institution and my co-workers.”

The University of Tennessee Institute of Agriculture celebrates 50 years of excellence in providing Real. Life. Solutions. Through teaching, discovery and service. ag.tennessee.edu​.



Charles Denney, 865-382-8058, cmdenney@utk.edu

Chris Boyer, 865-974-7468, cboyer3@utk.edu