In 2012, Farm Credit Mid-America established the Farm Credit Scholars Program through the Herbert College of Agriculture at the University of Tennessee. The program goal is to enhance the learning experience of students and to prepare them for careers in agriculture.

Farm Credit Scholars will:

  • Receive a $3,000 scholarship which may be renewed annually
  • Participate in a summer internship in a Farm Credit office
  • Enroll in a customized curriculum
  • Participate in other activities to enhance their background in agriculture and agricultural finance

Qualifications for potential Scholars:

  • Must be academically at the college sophomore or junior levels in the upcoming fall semester with a 3.0 or higher GPA
  • Must be currently enrolled in the Herbert College of Agriculture at the University of Tennessee when named a Scholar
  • Must have demonstrated academic excellence, evidence of strong leadership and a commitment to a career in the industry of agriculture
  • Interest in the field of agricultural finance will be considered.

For more information about the program, contact:

Dr. Bill Park
Farm Credit Scholars Program Director
2621 Morgan Circle, Rm. 302
University of Tennessee
Knoxville, TN 37996-4518