John Stier, right, assistant dean for the UT College of Agricultural Sciences and Natural Resources, congratulates university plant sciences professor Bill Klingeman on winning two significant teaching awards this spring in a surprise presentation before Klingeman's students.

Congratulations to Bill Klingeman, professor of plant sciences with the University of Tennessee Institute of Agriculture. Klingeman is the winner of two significant teaching awards this spring, one a Teaching Award of Merit from the North American Colleges and Teachers of Agriculture.

Klingeman won the NACTA award and also the College of Agricultural Sciences and Natural Resources 2015 W.S. Overton Faculty Award of Merit. Each honors a faculty member who has made notable contributions to the development of students. He received the honors from College Assistant Dean John Stier in a surprise presentation in front of his students on April 2 and was formally recognized at the College’s awards reception April 10.

Klingeman teaches Turfgrass Entomology and Nursery Management and Production courses to undergraduate and graduate students in the Department of Plant Sciences. Nominators Scott Senseman, head of the department, and former department head Robert Augé, said his turfgrass entomology course is one of the department’s strongest examples of experiential learning and noted that students working with live and preserved specimens form the backbone of the course. They emphasize that Klingeman “has a way of motivating students to work hard and stay on task.”

Another of his courses is one of the few in the college to fulfill a written communications requirement for general education, which requires a special teaching commitment because the instructor must also teach and evaluate writing in addition to the course’s subject matter.

According to the nominators, he has worked diligently as the accreditation liaison for the department, ensuring that student learning objectives for graduate degrees are appropriately met, revised, and reported to maintain the university’s accreditation status. In fact, the UT chose the data from the department that Klingeman had assembled for its example of excellence in preparing an initial accreditation report to the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools.

“Bill has a sense of duty and humor that ensure that students receive the best possible educational experience,” says Assistant Dean John Stier of the College of Agricultural Sciences and Natural Resources.

“Bill tracks student success data better than almost anyone and uses such data to help drive change that results in a better student experience. Bill is often the sounding board for others, ranging from students to faculty to administrators, who seek his input to make sure they are on the right track. He does all these things because he truly cares about students and his colleagues.

“People like Bill make our College a better place to work, and an excellent department for students seeking a well-balanced degree combining academics, research and extension.”

In addition to Klingeman, the College of Agricultural Sciences and Natural Resources recognized the following students, faculty, and staff members at its 55th annual Awards Recognition Program and Reception on April 10th.

Armistead Award for highest GPA in five semesters of study—Alana Burnham, Environmental and Soil Science major

Spring 2015 Top Graduates—
  • Sarah Nowak, animal science major from Seymour, Tennessee. Advisor: Cheryl Kojima
  • Lauren Ladd, food science and technology major from Kingston, Tennessee. Advisor: David Golden
  • Nathan Crilly, food science and technology major from Knoxville, Tennessee, now in the College of Veterinary Medicine
  • Alana Burnham, environmental and soil science major from Oak Ridge, Tennessee. Advisor: Joanne Logan
Chancellor’s Citations for Extraordinary Professional Promise—Ronald “Brian” Kirby. Major: wildlife and fisheries science. Advisor: Dr. Lisa Muller

Outstanding Freshman—David Lowman, wildlife and fisheries science major from Gallatin, Tennessee

Outstanding Sophomores—
  • Melinda Perkins, agricultural leadership, education and communications major with an animal science minor from Petersburg, Tennessee
  • Jacob Lay, animal science major from Madisonville, Tennessee
Outstanding Juniors—
  • Amelia Woods, agricultural leadership, education and communications major from Louisville, Tennessee
  • Amy Berger, animal science major, minor in food and agricultural business from Louisville, Tennessee
  • Madison Swafford, agricultural leadership, education and communications major, food and agricultural business minor from Petersburg, Tennessee
Outstanding Seniors—
  • Megan Moore, animal science major from Winchester, Tennessee
  • Michael Miller, wildlife and fisheries science major from Elizabethton, Tennessee
  • Sarah Maccaro, animal science major from Louisville, Tennessee
  • Ariel Elliot, wildlife and fisheries science major from Knoxville, Tennessee
Edward Neal Duncan Award for Outstanding Undergraduate Research—MiKayla Goodman, food science and technology major from Hillsboro, Tennessee

Outstanding Graduate Teaching Assistant—Molly Albin, MS student in food science and technology. Advisor: Jennifer Richards

W.F. and Golda Moss Teaching Award (fewer than 10 years of service)—Sharon Jean-Philippe, assistant professor, forestry, wildlife and fisheries. Recognized for teaching multiple courses, advising and recruiting

W.F. and Golda Moss Teaching Award (more than 10 years of service)—Michael Smith, professor, animal science. Recognized for innovative teaching

Outstanding Faculty Advisor Award—Jessica Harris Shanks, lecturer, animal science. Recognized for equestrian courses and organizations, recruiting and advising

Outstanding Staff Award—Mirian Wright, administrative support specialist, Department of Forestry, Wildlife and Fisheries

Undergraduate Research Mentoring—Dean Kopsell, professor, Department of Plant Sciences, Recognized for undergraduate mentoring that leads to graduate school

Glyn and Lynda Newton Research and Development Award—Fred Allen, professor, Department of Plant Sciences. Soybean breeder and UTIA crop variety tests

Friend of CASNR—James and Pam Brantley, Southeastern Provision LLC. Facilitates animals and organs for hands-on experiential learning

Dean’s Staff Award—Craig Pickett, coordinator for student life and diversity

The UT Institute of Agriculture provides instruction, research and outreach through the UT College of Agricultural Sciences and Natural Resources, the UT College of Veterinary Medicine, UT AgResearch, including its system of 10 research and education centers, and UT Extension offices in every county in the state.


Margot Emery, UTIA Marketing and Communications, 865-974-7374,