David Golden is one of four winners of the J.E. Moss Achievement Award​

2016 UTIA Moss Award winners

The UT Institute of Agriculture recently honored four members of its faculty with a 2016 J.E. Moss Achievement Award. Pictured are (front row, left to right) Dr. Jim Thompson, Dean of the UT College of Veterinary Medicine; award winner Dr. Bob DeNovo, UT CVM; award winner Dr. Shigetoshi Eda, Department of Foresty, Wildlife and Fisheries; award winner Dr. David Golden, Department of Food Science and Technology; and Dr. Larry Arrington, UTIA Chancellor. Back row: Dr. Caula Beyl, Dean of the UT College of Agricultural Sciences and Natural Resources, and Dr. Bill Brown, Dean of UT AgResearch. Not pictured is award winner Dr. Amy Fulcher, Department of Plant Sciences.​​

KNOXVILLE, Tenn. – The University of Tennessee Institute of Agriculture recently presented several awards to top faculty, staff, researchers and outreach experts. Thirty-two people were recognized at UTIA’s annual Awards and Promotions Luncheon held in early August. Many of the awards are gifts made possible by past faculty, alumni and friends of the Institute.

David Golden, professor in the Department of Food Science and Technology, was one of four honorees to receive the J.E. Moss Achievement Award. Golden represents the UT College of Agricultural Sciences and Natural Resources (CASNR) in receiving this honor.

Golden is a microbiologist, and teaches courses such as the History and Culture of Food, and Food Microbiology. The Moss Award is his 14
th teaching honor since joining CASNR in 1993, including the 2015 Williams – E.R. “Prof” Lidvall Outstanding Teaching Award. Prior to joining the CASNR, Golden worked for the U.S. Food and Drug Administration. He has also served as president of the UT Faculty Senate and on the UT Board of Trustees. He also currently conducts research in the detection of coli 0157:H7, Listeria monocyclogenes and Salmonella in foods and juices.

“We are so proud of the many talented and dedicated people working for the UT Institute of Agriculture across the state,” says UTIA Chancellor Larry Arrington. “It was an honor to recognize all these award winners for their hard work.”

his honor was established in memory of J.E. and Ann Moss, and recognizes excellent in achievement in teaching, research, and Extension for the Institute of Agriculture. Awards are provided each year for each of the four units. Other winners were Dr. Bob DeNovo of the UT College of Veterinary Medicine, Shigetoshi Eda with UT AgResearch, Amy Fulcher from UT Extension.

hrough its mission of research, teaching and extension, the University of Tennessee Institute of Agriculture touches lives and provides Real. Life. Solutions. ag.tennessee.edu



harles Denney, 865-382-8058 (mobile), cmdenney@utk.edu

Dr. David Golden, 865-974-7247,