​Shigetoshi Eda is one of four winners of the J.E. Moss Achievement Award

2016 UTIA Moss Award winners

The UT Institute of Agriculture recently honored four members of its faculty with a 2016 J.E. Moss Achievement Award. Pictured are (front row, left to right) Dr. Jim Thompson, Dean of the UT College of Veterinary Medicine; award winner Dr. Bob DeNovo, UT CVM; award winner Dr. Shigetoshi Eda, Department of Foresty, Wildlife and Fisheries; award winner Dr. David Golden, Department of Food Science and Technology; and Dr. Larry Arrington, UTIA Chancellor. Back row: Dr. Caula Beyl, Dean of the UT College of Agricultural Sciences and Natural Resources, and Dr. Bill Brown, Dean of UT AgResearch. Not pictured is award winner Dr. Amy Fulcher, Department of Plant Sciences.​

KNOXVILLE, Tenn. – The University of Tennessee Institute of Agriculture recently presented several awards to top faculty, staff, researchers and outreach experts. Thirty-two people were recognized at UTIA’s annual Awards and Promotions Luncheon held in early August. Many of the awards are gifts made possible by past faculty, alumni and friends of the Institute.

Shigetoshi Eda, UT AgResearch specialist and professor in the Department of Forestry, Wildlife and Fisheries, was one of four honorees to receive the J.E. Moss Achievement Award.

Eda is working to eradicate Johne’s disease, a bacteria that can strike ruminants, and causes an estimated $200 million in losses to the U.S. Ag economy each year, particularly striking the dairy industry. Eda’s research looks at fighting the bacteria as it develops in the intestines of animals, including dairy cattle.

Eda led the effort to develop an accurate diagnostic test to detect the bacteria, and has worked with the UT Research Foundation to earn a patent and commercialize the method. He had also teamed with the UT Department of Computer Science and Electrical Engineering to develop a portable device that can detect tuberculosis in humans and Johne’s in cattle. Researchers believe this invention may one day be useful in detecting cancer and Alzheimer’s in people.

“It’s a great honor to receive the J.E. Moss Achievement Award,” Eda says. “I am blessed and thankful to my beloved family, excellent colleagues, very helpful staff, and the great UTIA leadership team.”

“We are so proud of the many talented and dedicated people working for the UT Institute of Agriculture across the state,” says UTIA Chancellor Larry Arrington. “It was an honor to recognize all these award winners for their hard work.”

This honor was established in memory of J.E. and Ann Moss, and recognizes excellent in achievement in teaching, research, and Extension for the Institute of Agriculture. Awards are provided each year for each of the four units. Other winners were Dr. Bob DeNovo of the UT College of Veterinary Medicine, Amy Fulcher from UT Extension, and David Golden, professor in the College of Agricultural Sciences and Natural Resources.
Through its mission of research, teaching and extension, the University of Tennessee Institute of Agriculture touches lives and provides Real. Life. Solutions. ag.tennessee.edu



Charles Denney, 865-382-8058 (mobile), cmdenney@utk.edu

Dr. Shigetoshi Eda, 865-974-5008, seda@utk.edu