UT Biosystems Engineering Associate Professor Wins Institute of Agriculture Award

KNOXVILLE, Tenn. – The University of Tennessee Institute of Agriculture recently presented several awards to top faculty, staff, researchers and outreach experts. Thirty-two people were recognized at UTIA’s annual Awards and Promotions Luncheon held in early August. Many of the awards are gifts made possible by past faculty, alumni and friends of the Institute.

Jennifer DeBruyn, associate professor in biosystems engineering and soil science, was honored with the Institute’s T.J. Whatley Distinguished Young Scientist Award.

DeBruyn does research in environmental microbiology with a focus on identifying microorganisms in certain critical situations. DeBruyn does work for both UT AgResearch and UT Extension, and looks at contamination events, agricultural additives and management practices as they relate to soil microbiology.

She also provides environmental science training to educators through programs such as Backyard STEM for 4-H agents, and the Soils and Our Environment workshop for middle and high school teachers.

“We are so proud of the many talented and dedicated people working for the UT Institute of Agriculture across the state,” says UTIA Chancellor Larry Arrington. “It was an honor to recognize all these award winners for their hard work.”

This award is one of the most prestigious given by UTIA every year, and was established by Dr. Thomas J. Whatley, Associate Dean Emeritus of the Agricultural Experiment Station. The honor recognizes a young scientist who has less than 12 years of professional experience, and a minimum of five years of service on the agricultural faculty.

Through its mission of research, teaching and extension, the University of Tennessee Institute of Agriculture touches lives and provides Real. Life. Solutions.



Charles Denney, 865-382-8058 (mobile), cmdenney@utk.edu

Dr. Jennifer DeBruyn, 865-974-7277, jdebruyn@utk.edu