UT College of Veterinary Medicine IT Team Leader Wins a J.E. Moss Achievement Award

J.E. Moss Award, UTIA 2017

UTIA Chancellor Tim Cross (center front) is flanked by the 2017 J.E. Moss Award winners: (left to right) Charlie Parker and Joe Sarten, Biosystems Engineering and Soil Science; Aaron Smith, Agricultural and Resource Economics; and Charles Lambrecht, CVM IT Team Leader.  Also pictured are the deans of the four UTIA units: (top row, left to right) Dr. Jim Thompson, College of Veterinary Medicine, and Delton Gerloff, UT Extension (interim); (center row, left to right) Bill Brown, UT AgResearch; and Caula Beyl, College of Agricultural Sciences and Natural Resources. Photo courtesy UTIA.

KNOXVILLE, Tenn. – The University of Tennessee Institute of Agriculture recently presented several awards to top faculty, staff, researchers and extension experts. More than two dozen people were recognized at UTIA’s annual Awards and Promotions luncheon held on the UTIA campus in Knoxville July 28, 2017. Many of the awards are gifts made possible by past faculty, alumni and friends of the Institute.

Charles Lambrecht, Information Technology Team Leader for the UT College of Veterinary Medicine, is one of the four winners of the J.E. Moss Achievement Award.

"I'm honored to receive the J.E. Moss Award,” Lambrecht says. “I enjoy working with people both in the Institute and in the community, and hope to continue for many years.”

For going on 26 years now, it’s been Lambrecht’s mission to combine computer technology with veterinary care. His responsibilities include managing networks, and CVM’s Vol/Vet portal – as well as learning systems for students, and overseeing the installation of new computers and software.

Lambrecht is also a previous winner of the UTIA Professional/Academic Award, and gives his time teaching a Boy Scout Computer Merit Badge course at Roane State Community College. Hobbies include working on computers and building new ones from old parts. 
UTIA Chancellor Dr. Tim Cross hosted the award winners, and praised them for their work. “The people at the UT Institute of Agriculture word hard every day to deliver real life solutions to our many stakeholders,” Cross says. “Recognition of the outstanding work by our award winners inspires all of us to strive for excellence and make a difference in the lives of Tennesseans.”

This honor was established in memory of J.E. and Ann Moss, and recognizes excellent in achievement in teaching, research, and Extension for the Institute of Agriculture. Awards are provided each year for each of the four units. Other winners were Dr. Charlie Parker, Director of UTIA Construction Science, and Joe Sarten, Agricultural Engineer with UT AgResearch, and Dr. Aaron Smith with Agricultural and Resource Economics with UT Extension.

Through its mission of research, teaching and extension, the University of Tennessee Institute of Agriculture touches lives and provides Real. Life. Solutions. ag.tennessee.edu.



Charles Denney, 865-382-8058 (mobile), cmdenney@utk.edu

Charles Lambrecht, 865-974-5742, cgl@utk.edu