​UTCVM's Carla Sommardahl Is One Winner of the J.E. Moss Achievement Awards 

2018 UTIA J.E. Moss Award winners
Pictured above are the winners of the 2018 J.E. Moss Achievement awards with UTIA leaders. From left to right (front row), Tim Cross, chancellor of UTIA; John Wilkerson, professor of Biosystems Engineering and Soil Science; Carla Sommardahl, DVM and associate professor of Large Animal Clinical Sciences; Fred Tompkins, interim dean of AgResearch; Andrea Ludwig, associate professor of Biosystems Engineering and Soil Science, and Robert Burns, dean of UT Extension. Also shown on the back row, from left to right, are Jim Thompson, DVM and dean of the College of Veterinary Medicine; William M. "Bill" Park, professor of Agricultural and Resource Economics; and Caula Beyl, dean of the Herbert College of Agriculture. Phot​o by T. Salvador, courtesy UTIA. ​

KNOXVILLE Tenn. – The University of Tennessee Institute of Agriculture recognized some of its top faculty, staff, researchers and extension experts at UTIA’s annual Awards and Promotions Luncheon held on the UTIA campus in Knoxville August 17, 2018. Many of the awards are gifts made possible by past faculty, alumni and friends of the Institute.

Chancellor Tim Cross hosted the award winners, and praised them for their work. “The people we recognized at our ceremony exemplify the Institute of Agriculture’s commitment to our mission of providing real life solutions through teaching, discovery and service on campus – throughout Tennessee and across the world,” Cross says. “Their hard work and dedication inspires all of us to be our best.”  

Carla Sommardahl, DVM and clinical associate professor in Large Animal Clinical Sciences at the UT College of Veterinary Medicine, is one of the four winners of the J.E. Moss Achievement Award.

Sommardahl is an equine internal medicine specialist and the veterinary research and education center is under her direction. She works in the equine hospital – including the Wharton intensive care unit and the isolation facility, where contagious animals are separated from other patients. She is an expert in infectious diseases and biosecurity and teaches courses that include large animal ultrasounds. In addition to horses, she also works with goats and alpacas. Sommardahl has been at UTCVM since 1989, starting out as an intern, then a resident and graduate student, and in 2001 became a faculty member in the large animal section.

“It is wonderful to be recognized with the J.E. Moss Achievement Award for doing something I love to do,” Sommardahl says. “I am motivated to be the best veterinarian and the best teacher I can be to my students. I hope that I motivate them to do their best in return.”

The J.E. Moss award recognizes an outstanding person from each of UTIA’s four units. The other winners for 2018 were Andrea Ludwig for UT Extension, Bill Park for the Herbert College of Agriculture, and John Wilkerson for UT AgResearch.
The University of Tennessee Institute of Agriculture celebrates 50 years of excellence in providing Real. Life. Solutions. Through teaching, discovery and service. ag.tennessee.edu​.


Contact: Charles Denney, 865-382-8058, cmdenney@utk.edu