Michael Smith is the UT Herbert College of Agriculture Winner of the J.E. Moss Award

Picture of Michael Smith with UTIA leaders

Michael Smith, retiring professor in Animal Science, is the UT Herbert College of Agriculture winner of the J.E. Moss Award.​ From left to right (front row): Bob DeNovo, associate dean of the College of Veterinary Medicine; Hongwei Xin, dean of UT AgResearch; Greg Blaylock, UT AgResearch; Michael Smith, Herbert College of Agriculture; Claudia Featherstone, the College of Veterinary Medicine; Natalie Bumgarner, UT Extension; and Tim Cross, UT Institute of Agriculture senior vice president and senior vice chancellor. Also pictured (back row) are Michael Buschermohle, interim assistant dean of UT Extension, and Caula Beyl, dean of the Herbert College of Agriculture. Photo by T. Salvador, courtesy UTIA. Download image​

KNOXVILLE, Tenn. – The University of Tennessee Institute of Agriculture recognized some of its top faculty, staff, researchers and Extension experts at UTIA’s annual Awards and Promotions Luncheon held on the UTIA campus in Knoxville August 2, 2019. Many of the awards are gifts made possible by past faculty, alumni and friends of the Institute.

UTIA Senior Vice President and Senior Vice Chancellor Tim Cross hosted the award winners and praised them for their work. “The faculty and staff of the UT Institute of Agriculture are known on campus and throughout the state as dedicated, hard-working and knowledgeable experts who provide real-life solutions to challenging issues every day,” said Cross. “The awards presented at this ceremony recognize excellence in research, education, Extension outreach as well as service programs that benefit our stakeholders. They serve as our way to express our gratitude for a job well done.”
Michael Smith, retiring professor in Animal Science, is the UT Herbert College of Agriculture winner of the J.E. Moss Award.

Smith just officially retired days ago after being one of the most decorated faculty members in UTIA history. He was a leading authority on the poultry industry, and did notable research on the safety of heat-stressed poultry, recognizing that electrolytes play a critical role in bird nutrition. In 2018, Dr. Smith was elected a Fellow of the Poultry Science Association of America, the highest distinction a PSA member can achieve. 

He’s also been awarded the Buford Ellington Award, the Herbert College’s Outstanding Advisor award, was the first-ever winner of the E.R. “Prof” Lidvall Outstanding Teacher Award– and the national Minority Access Role Model Faculty mentor award.

Michael and his wife, Delores Smith, retired together at the end of July. Delores served in the College of Education, Health and Human Services. They’ve been married 46 years and plan to travel in retirement.

The J.E. Moss Award recognizes an outstanding person from each of UTIA’s four units. Greg Blaylock was the winner for UT AgResearch, Natalie Bumgarner for UT Extension, and Claudia Featherstone for the UT College of Veterinary Medicine.

Through its mission of research, teaching and extension, the University of Tennessee Institute of Agriculture touches lives and provides Real. Life. Solutions.



Charles Denney, UTIA Marketing and Communications, 865-382-8058,