Dr. Bob DeNovo is one of four winners of the J.E. Moss Achievement Award​

2016 UTIA Moss Award Winners

The UT Institute of Agriculture recently honored four members of its faculty with a 2016 J.E. Moss Achievement Award. Pictured are (front row, left to right) Dr. Jim Thompson, Dean of the UT College of Veterinary Medicine; award winner Dr. Bob DeNovo, UT CVM; award winner Dr. Shigetoshi Eda, Department of Foresty, Wildlife and Fisheries; award winner Dr. David Golden, Department of Food Science and Technology; and Dr. Larry Arrington, UTIA Chancellor. Back row: Dr. Caula Beyl, Dean of the UT College of Agricultural Sciences and Natural Resources, and Dr. Bill Brown, Dean of UT AgResearch. Not pictured is award winner Dr. Amy Fulcher, Department of Plant Sciences.

KNOXVILLE, Tenn. – The University of Tennessee Institute of Agriculture recently presented several awards to top faculty, staff, researchers and outreach experts. Thirty-two people were recognized at UTIA’s annual Awards and Promotions Luncheon held in early August. Many of the awards are gifts made possible by past faculty, alumni and friends of the Institute.

Dr. Bob DeNovo, a professor of internal medicine and associate dean at the UT College of Veterinary Medicine, was one of four honorees to receive the J.E. Moss Achievement Award.

DeNovo has been at the college the past 35 years, and served as associate dean since 2007. He has also served as director of the residency program, head of medical services, and head of small animal clinical sciences. He oversees the college’s small animal hospital, equine facility and zoological medicine area.

In addition, DeNovo has served on the Board of Regents of the American College of Veterinary Medicine, and has given lectures in 13 countries. Growing up as a boy in Chicago, DeNovo’s family often opened up their home to stray and orphaned animals. Today DeNovo and his wife Nancy continue that tradition of adopting rescue pets.

“I am so honored to receive the J.E. Moss Achievement Award, and humbled to be included in the group of talented and productive individuals who have previously received this award,” DeNovo says. “When I was a student, my best instructors were those who were knowledgeable, approachable, and most importantly, those who cared. These characteristics have been my guide, and for 35 years, I have been fortunate to work with colleagues at CVM who value these traits.”

“Dr. DeNovo cares deeply about helping others succeed,” says Dr. Jim Thompson, Dean of the College of Veterinary Medicine. “He has done hero-type work to make certain all our people have the facility infrastructure and tools to deliver our expected excellence in teaching, research, patient care and community outreach.”

“We are so proud of the many talented and dedicated people working for the UT Institute of Agriculture across the state,” says UTIA Chancellor Larry Arrington. “It was an honor to recognize all these award winners for their hard work.”

This honor was established in memory of J.E. and Ann Moss, and recognizes excellent in achievement in teaching, research, and Extension for the Institute of Agriculture. Awards are provided each year for each of the four units. Other winners were Shigetoshi Eda from UT AgResearch, Amy Fulcher from UT Extension, and David Golden, professor in the College of Agricultural Sciences and Natural Resources.
Through its mission of research, teaching and extension, the University of Tennessee Institute of Agriculture touches lives and provides Real. Life. Solutions. ag.tennessee.edu



Charles Denney, 865-382-8058 (mobile), cmdenney@utk.edu

Dr. Bob DeNovo, 865-974-5253, rdenovo@utk.edu