Who we are

The SASEF Board consists of members from the community who are passionate about the science fair. This includes business people, teachers, professors, and researchers. If you are interested in becoming a board member, please contact us.

Current Board Members

Officers and Directors
Gary M. Lessman* (Director) – University of Tennessee, retired
Kimberly Gwinn* (Co-Director) - University of Tennessee
Tim Prather (President) - University of Tennessee
Al Hazari* (Past-President) - University of Tennessee
Jan Coley (Vice President) - Jefferson County Schools
Joanne Logan* (Treasurer) – University of Tennessee
Bonnie Ownley (Secretary) – University of Tennessee

Tom Berg - BWXT Y-12
Leah Berry, Strata-G
James D. Caponetti – University of Tennessee and Tennessee Valley Pharmacists Association
Henry A Fribourg* – University of Tennessee, retired
Arlene Garrison* – Oak Ridge Associated Universities
Martin Grossbeck - University of Tennessee
Ralph C. Harvey – University of Tennessee
Brian Hornback - Knox County Schools (retired)
Rayford P. Hosker, Jr. – NOAA (retired), Hosker Science Services
Elizabeth Howell - University of Tennessee
Robert Joseph - Oak Ridge National Lab
Ann Kronk - Pellissippi State Community College
Thomas Kubota, MD – Covenant Health and Knoxville Academy of Medicine
Theodore Labotka - University of Tennessee
Marsha Sega – St. Mary’s School, Oak Ridge
Bruce Tompkins - Oak Ridge National Lab and American Chemical Society
Peter Xiques - Science Applications International Corporation
James P. Zonar - BWXT Y-12
* past presidents