General Expertise
Specific Expertise
Bozell, JoeThe University of TennesseeCenter for Renewable Carbonjbozell@utk.edu
Biofuel Production, Biorefinery
Bioproducts, By-products (including distillers grain)
Feedstock Preparation and Pre-Processing
Feedstock pretreatment
High-value biochemical co-products
Chen, FengThe University of TennesseePlant Sciencesfengc@utk.edu
Feedstocks (dedicated energy crops)
Feedstock breeding, genetics, and genomics
Cheng, MaxThe University of TennesseePlant Sciencszcheng@utk.edu
Feedstocks (dedicated energy crops)
Feedstock breeding, genetics, and genomics
Other biomaterials (wood, alternatives, etc)
de la Torre Ugarte, DanielThe University of TennesseeAgr. Economicsdanieltu@utk.edu
Biorefinery Site Selection (land use, infrastructure, economic value)
Economics of Bioenergy and By-Products Production
Environmental Issues with feedstock production
Feedstocks (dedicated energy crops)
Impact on Food, Feed and Fiber Markets (policy, marketing)
Bioenergy economic analysis
English, BurtonThe University of TennesseeAgr. Economicsbenglish@utk.edu
Biorefinery Site Selection (land use, infrastructure, economic value)
Business Organizations (partnerships, farmer co-ops)
Economics of Bioenergy and By-Products Production
Economics of Feedstock Production and Handling
Feedstock Preparation and Pre-Processing
Feedstocks (dedicated energy crops)
Impact on Food, Feed and Fiber Markets (policy, marketing)
Bioenergy economic analysis
Community/economic development
Feedstock harvest, handling, transport, and storage
Feedstock production management, sustainability
Gerloff, DeltonThe University of TennesseeAgr. Economicsquince@utk.edu
Economics of Bioenergy and By-Products Production
Economics of Feedstock Production and Handling
Impact on Food, Feed and Fiber Markets (policy, marketing)
Farm financial analysis
Farm planning
Harte, FedericoThe University of TennesseeFood Science and Technologyfede@utk.edu
Bioproducts, By-products (including distillers grain)
High-value biochemical co-products
Other biomaterials (wood, alternatives, etc)
Hayes, DougThe University of TennesseeBiosystems Eng. & Soil Sciencedhayes1@utk.edu
Biofuel Production, Biorefinery
Bioproducts, By-products (including distillers grain)
Education, Workforce Development (educational materials, strategies)
High-value biochemical co-products
Jensen, KimberlyThe University of TennesseeAgr. Economicskjensen@utk.edu
Biofuel Production, Biorefinery
Biorefinery Site Selection (land use, infrastructure, economic value)
Economics of Bioenergy and By-Products Production
Economics of Feedstock Production and Handling
Bioenergy economic analysis
Community/economic development
Labbé, NicoleThe University of TennesseeCenter for Renewable Carbonnlabbe@utk.edu
Biofuel Production, Biorefinery
Feedstock Preparation and Pre-Processing
Feedstocks (dedicated energy crops)
Feedstock pretreatment
Other biomaterials (wood, alternatives, etc)
Lambert, DaytonThe University of TennesseeAgr. Economicsdlamber1@utk.edu
Biorefinery Site Selection (land use, infrastructure, economic value)
Economics of Bioenergy and By-Products Production
Bioenergy economic analysis
Rials, TimThe University of TennesseeCenter for Renewable Carbontrials@utk.edu
Biofuel Production, Biorefinery
Bioproducts, By-products (including distillers grain)
Feedstocks (dedicated energy crops)
High-value biochemical co-products
Sams, Carl E.The University of TennesseePlant Sciencescarlsams@utk.edu
Bioproducts, By-products (including distillers grain)
Feedstock Preparation and Pre-Processing
Feedstocks (dedicated energy crops)
Utilization of Biofuels
Alcohols (eg, ethanol, butanol, mixed alcohols)
Biodiesel
Feedstock harvest, handling, transport, and storage
High-value biochemical co-products
Nutrient inventory and land requirements
Oil crops
Stewart, NealThe University of TennesseePlant Sciencesnealstewart@utk.edu
Environmental Issues with feedstock production
Feedstock Preparation and Pre-Processing
Feedstocks (dedicated energy crops)
Feedstock breeding, genetics, and genomics
Feedstock harvest, handling, transport, and storage
Feedstock production management, sustainability
Thompson, AngelaThe University of TennesseePlant Sciencesathompson@utk.edu
On-farm Production of Biofuels
Feedstock production management, sustainability
Oil crops
Tyler, DonaldThe University of TennesseeBiosystems Eng. & Soil Sciencedtyler@utk.edu
Education, Workforce Development (educational materials, strategies)
Environmental Issues with feedstock production
Feedstocks (dedicated energy crops)
Feedstock production management, sustainability
West, DennisThe University of TennesseePlant Sciencesdwest3@utk.edu
Feedstocks (dedicated energy crops)
Feedstock breeding, genetics, and genomics
Feedstock harvest, handling, transport, and storage
Feedstock production management, sustainability
Womac,AlvinThe University of TennesseeBiosystems Eng. & Soil Scienceawomac@utk.edu
Education, Workforce Development (educational materials, strategies)
Feedstock Preparation and Pre-Processing
Feedstocks (dedicated energy crops)
Utilization of Biofuels
Feedstock harvest, handling, transport, and storage
Ye, PhilipThe University of TennesseeBiosystems Eng. & Soil Sciencexye2@utk.edu
Biofuel Production, Biorefinery
Bioproducts, By-products (including distillers grain)
Education, Workforce Development (educational materials, strategies)
Biogas systems/ gasification
Yu, Tun-Hsiang "Edward"The University of TennesseeAgr. Economicstyu1@utk.edu
Biorefinery Site Selection (land use, infrastructure, economic value)
Economics of Bioenergy and By-Products Production
Economics of Feedstock Production and Handling
Feedstocks (dedicated energy crops)
Bioenergy economic analysis
Farm financial analysis