General Expertise
Specific Expertise
Agblevor, FosterVirginia Polytechnic Institute and State UniversityBiological Systems Engineeringfagblevo@vt.edu
Biofuel Production, Biorefinery
Biorefinery Site Selection (land use, infrastructure, economic value)
Environmental Issues with Biofuel Production
Feedstock Preparation and Pre-Processing
Biodiesel
Other biomaterials (wood, alternatives, etc)
Beers, EricVirginia Polytechnic Institute and State UniversityHorticultureebeers@vt.edu
Feedstocks (dedicated energy crops)
Feedstock breeding, genetics, and genomics
Chen-Jiann-ShinVirginia Polytechnic Institute and State UniversityBiochemistrychenjs@vt.edu
Biofuel Production, Biorefinery
Microbial physiology
Fike, JohnVirginia Polytechnic Institute and State UniversityCrop & Soil Environmental Sciencesjfike@vt.edu
Environmental Issues with Biofuel Production
Environmental Issues with feedstock production
Feedstocks (dedicated energy crops)
Feedstock production management, sustainability
Nutrient inventory and land requirements
Flinn, BarryVirginia Polytechnic Institute and State UniversityIALR/Horticulture/Forestrybarry.flinn@ialr.org
Feedstocks (dedicated energy crops)
Feedstock breeding, genetics, and genomics
Griffey, CarlVirginia Polytechnic Institute and State UniversityCrop & Soil Environmental Sciencescgriffey@vt.edu
Feedstocks (dedicated energy crops)
Feedstock breeding, genetics, and genomics
Iqbal, M. JavedVirginia Polytechnic Institute and State UniversityIALR/Horticulture/Forestrymjiqbal@ialr.org
Feedstocks (dedicated energy crops)
Feedstock breeding, genetics, and genomics
Moffitt, RonVirginia Polytechnic Institute and State UniversityVT/AAPPI (IALR)rmoffitt@vt.edu
Feedstock Preparation and Pre-Processing
Feedstock production management, sustainability
Nowak, JerzyVirginia Polytechnic Institute and State UniversityHorticulturejenowak@vt.edu
Feedstock Preparation and Pre-Processing
Feedstocks (dedicated energy crops)
Feedstock breeding, genetics, and genomics
Feedstock production management, sustainability
Parrish, DavidVirginia Polytechnic Institute and State UniversityCrop & Soil Environmental Sciencesdparrish@vt.edu
Environmental Issues with Biofuel Production
Environmental Issues with feedstock production
Feedstocks (dedicated energy crops)
Feedstock breeding, genetics, and genomics
Feedstock harvest, handling, transport, and storage
Feedstock production management, sustainability
Thomason, WadeVirginia Polytechnic Institute and State UniversityCrop & Soil Environmental Scienceswthomaso@vt.edu
Education, Workforce Development (educational materials, strategies)
Wen, ZhiyouVirginia Polytechnic Institute and State UniversityBiological Systems Engineeringwenz@vt.edu
Bioproducts, By-products (including distillers grain)
Economics of Bioenergy and By-Products Production
Economics of Feedstock Production and Handling
Education, Workforce Development (educational materials, strategies)
Environmental Issues with Biofuel Production
Environmental Issues with feedstock production
Feedstock Preparation and Pre-Processing
Public Issues and Perception, Community Leadership
Feedstock pretreatment
Zhang, PercivalVirginia Polytechnic Institute and State UniversityBiological Systems Engineeringypzhang@vt.edu
Biofuel Production, Biorefinery
Economics of Feedstock Production and Handling
Feedstock Preparation and Pre-Processing
Alcohols (eg, ethanol, butanol, mixed alcohols)
Feedstock pretreatment
Fermentation